Authority for the Continuing Legal Education Courses
According to Title 38 C.F.R. § 14.629, you must periodically complete three hours of qualifying CLE to maintain your accreditation as an agent or attorney with the Department of Veterans Affairs.
Authority for our Continuing Legal Education Courses:
- Content and structure approved from 2013-24 (at various times) by the Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Missouri, New Jersey, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, and Washington State Bars for 3 hours of self-study credit for VA CLE.
- Meets requirements under 38 CFR 14.629 (b) (iii) As a further condition of initial accreditation, both agents and attorneys are required to complete 3 hours of qualifying continuing legal education (CLE) during the first 12-month period following the date of initial accreditation by VA. To qualify under this subsection, a CLE course must be approved for a minimum of 3 hours of CLE credit by any State bar association and, at a minimum, must cover the following topics: representation before VA, claims procedures, basic eligibility for VA benefits, right to appeal, disability compensation (38 U.S.C. Chapter 11), dependency and indemnity compensation (38 U.S.C. Chapter 13), and pension (38 U.S.C. Chapter 15). Upon completion of the initial CLE requirement, agents and attorneys shall certify to the Office of the General Counsel in writing that they have completed qualifying CLE. Such certification shall include the title of the CLE, date and time of the CLE, and identification of the CLE provider, and shall be submitted to VA as part of the annual certification prescribed by § 14.629(b)(4).
- Also meets requirements for 3 hours of CLE for maintaining accreditation for any given two-year period following the initial CLE accreditation requirement under 38 CFR 14.629 (b) (iv) to maintain accreditation, agents and attorneys are required to complete an additional 3 hours of qualifying CLE on veterans benefits law and procedure not later than 3 years from the date of initial accreditation and every 2 years thereafter. To qualify under this subsection, a CLE course must be approved for a minimum of 3 hours of CLE credit by any State bar association. Agents and attorneys shall certify completion of the post-accreditation CLE requirement in the same manner as described in § 14.629(b)(1)(iii).